Fate series is one of the most lovable and beautiful anime series out there. The action, the animation, the story everything is top-notch. But just like the Monogatari series, it is really hard and confusing to watch the Fate series. The theme of the series is common throughout the whole series, but the timeline is really messed up. And that is what makes this anime so good and an absolute treat to watch. So, we here have made a list for you that will tell you how to watch the series.

Releasing Order To Watch the series

1. Fate/hollow ataraxia (Visual Novel only) – This series starts 6 months after the events of Fate/stay the night.

2. Fate/stay night (2006) – The 2006 version of Fate/Stay Night follows the route of Saber.

Also Read :  7 Shows Like Ted Lasso

3. Fate/stay night: Unlimited Blade Works (2014) – The 2014 Unlimited Blade Works follows Rin’s path towards the Holy Grail.

4. Fate/stay night: Heaven’s Feel(Movie 1,2 and 3) – The trilogy follows through the path of Sakura’s journey towards the Holy Grail. The third part was released earlier in August this year.

5. Fate/Zero – It is a prequel to Stay Night: This series follows the event that occurred 10 years prior to the Stay/Night event.

Chronological Order To Watch The Series

1. Fate/Zero – This might be a prequel to the original series and is first in chronological order. But it is advisable to watch it after the original series.

2. Fate/Stay the night (2006) aka “Fate Route” – This adaptation is really bland and boring, but it gives you some new things that you won’t see in UBW.

3. Fate/Stay Night: Unlimited Blade Works (2014) – The first series with which the Fate series really starts.

Also Read :  Movies Based on Fan-Fiction: The Best of Hollywood's Obsession

4. Fate/Stay Night: Heaven’s Feel(Movie 1,2 and 3)

5. Fate/hollow ataraxia (Visual Novel only) – It might not have an anime adaptation yet. But you can always play its game to have a similar experience.

It is advisable to watch the series in releasing order rather than chronological order. Just like Star Wars, you don’t watch it in chronological order but in released order.

Grand Order Storyline

1. Fate/Grand Order: First Order – It is set in an alternate universe and timeline then Stay Night. It is not related to the main storyline in any way.

2. Fate/Grand Order: Shinsei Entaku Ryouiki Camelot 1 – Wandering; Agateram – The movie released on December 5, 2020, so if you haven’t watched Babylonia yet you might want to hold onto that.

3. Fate/Grand Order: Zettai Majuu Sensen Babylonia – The Fate gamers will understand the story easily than the anime watchers. P.S. It includes Episode 0 too.

Also Read :  Aesthetically Pleasing Indian Films

4. Fate/Grand Order: Moonlight/Lostroom – It is just a transitional story between parts of the game. So treat it as an OVA.

Other Fate Anime (In no particular order)

  • Fate/Apocrypha – Might be one of the best action anime out there. It is set in a parallel universe to the main anime and is not related to it at all.
  • Carnival Phantasm – It is a light-hearted series, which allows you to watch your favorite characters in different avatars.
  • Fate/Extra Last Encore – This is set in the same universe as the Stay Night. But it changes its scenarios in between the anime.
  •  Kara no Kyoukai movies – There is a total of 8 movies in this series which are really similar to the main series.
  • Tsukihime Visual Novel – The end of this story takes place just before the starting events of Fate/Stay Nights.